These are messy. These are the best darn chicken wings I’ve ever had. As in keep them away from me or I’ll eat them all. As in protect your wings or I’ll take them when you’re not looking. As in you’ll need more napkins because these wings really are finger-licking awesome. I don’t really drink (half a glass of wine and I have a hard time stringing together a sentence), but I always keep a bottle of good bourbon whisky in the cabinet because I love to cook with it. Bourbon imparts a subtle smoky flavor when used in cooking, and when paired with maple syrup? Oh my. Perfect. For those of you concerned about the alcohol level in this wings, almost all of it boils away. It is not remotely discernible in the taste. So are they kid-friendly? Yes. Though as I mentioned they are sticky and messy and you certainly don’t want to give them to a four-year old sitting on a white couch. Enjoy!

One Wing Recipe Is Never Enough

Old Bay Chicken Wings Miso Glazed Chicken Wings Cacio e Pepe Chicken Wings Teriyaki Chicken Wings Classic Buffalo Wings

Add the bourbon whisky, the maple syrup, tomato paste, rosemary, salt, pepper, and Tabasco. Whisk to combine. Bring to a low simmer. Simmer for 5 minutes. Toss the wings with the sauce to coat. Arrange the wings on an oiled, foil-lined baking pan, with space between each wing. If it is taking too long for the sauce to reduce, pour it into a wide shallow pan and bring to a boil. The wider pan will make sauce evaporate more easily.