Breakfast Cookies for Busy Mornings

As a frazzled mother of twin toddlers, I often skipped breakfast out of sheer desperation and plain exhaustion. I’d whip up a bowl of oatmeal for the babies, guzzle a mug of coffee, and call it a morning. Unfortunately, the lack of effort began to show in my overall health. I was cranky in the middle of the day, my energy was kaput, and I was getting sick more often. I developed this recipe for Oatmeal Almond Butter Breakfast Cookies to pack as many minerals, vitamins, and beneficial fats into an easy-to-make (and eat) meal.

Healthy Breakfast Cookies

When I tell you that these cookies will sustain you until lunch, I’m not lying—you won’t need more than one for breakfast. And when I say these cookies are packed with good stuff, I’m not exaggerating. Magnesium and manganese (found in the almond butter and rolled oats) are beneficial for bone health. There’s vast amounts of protein and fiber in most of the ingredients (like the oats!), as well. B-vitamins, vitamin E, zinc, iron, and folate are others that are packed into this little cookie. While I came up with this recipe for my own sake, the twins developed a taste for them, too. Years later, it’s become a family favorite. It’s great, too, because children need many of the vitamins and nutrients found in this cookie.

What Is Wheat Germ?

Wheat germ is an ingredient that you may or may not be familiar with. It is the embryo (sprouting section) of the wheat kernel, which is usually separated during the milling process. You can typically find it in the baking section of your supermarket. If you are unable to locate it there, check the breakfast aisle near the oatmeal and grits. Because it’s so high in essential fatty acids (the good fats), it has a shorter shelf life than wheat flours. Once you’ve opened the container, you’ll need to refrigerate it or freeze it to keep it from going rancid too quickly. Looking for more ways to use wheat germ? Wheat germ is also a wonderful add-in for smoothies, yogurt, shakes, and oatmeal, or for adding to muffin or bread recipes.

Switch up Your Cookies With the Season

I enjoy altering this recipe to compliment the seasons. Instead of using chocolate chips, I like switch it up and use dried fruits instead. Blueberries, cranberries, cherries, or raisins are some of my favorites. Changing the type of nut butter is an option, too—cashew, coconut, and peanut all work well. Just make sure you’re using room temperature nut butter, which will incorporate much better into the dough.

How to Make Breakfast Cookies

These cookies are larger than traditional cookies—they are a complete breakfast, after all. To make them, I use a #12 ice cream or cookie scoop, which is just over a 1/4 cup (or 2 ounces). You can find the size of your ice cream scoop by looking at the number on the release lever in the bowl of the scoop. If you don’t have an ice cream scoop that large, lightly brush the inside of a 1/4 measuring cup instead with melted butter or vegetable oil and use that. Because the cookies contain wheat germ and whole wheat (which means a short shelf life), it’s best to bake and eat them within 48 hours.
Since this recipe makes sixteen large cookies, unless you have a large family, you probably won’t be able to eat the whole batch before they start to perish. I recommend forming and freezing those you won’t eat right away (see below).

How to Freeze Breakfast Cookies

I like to make a batch of the cookies, scoop them onto a prepared sheet pan, and freeze them until solid. I take the frozen, unbaked cookies and seal them in a heavy-duty freezer bag until I’m ready to bake. Then, I put them onto a sheet pan while my oven’s heating up, and pop them in the oven as soon as it’s warm. I add a minute to the total bake time to make sure they’re baked all the way through. While you can certainly freeze the cookies after they’re baked, I find that they tend to taste stale after thawing. This is why I prefer freezing beforehand and baking to order, so to speak.

More Quick, Healthy Breakfast Ideas

Grab-and-Go Oatmeal Chia Cups How to Make Overnight Oatmeal Morning Glory Muffins Pressure Cooker Egg Bites Make-Ahead Feta and Spinach Breakfast Wraps

Peanut butter or another nut butter can be substituted for the almond butter. With the mixer still on low, add the eggs, one at a time, to the bowl. Scrape down the bowl after each egg is blended into the batter. This helps the mixture to stay smooth and uniform. Add the water to the bowl and mix on low until the batter no longer looks soupy. Gradually add the flour mixture to the batter, stopping the mixer to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Mix again for one minute to make sure the flour is completely blended in. Gradually add the chocolate chips to the dough. Mix for 30 seconds more still on low speed. Slightly flatten each cookie with the back of your scoop or measuring cup.